Joe Budden : Don’t call it a comebeack

Posted: January 26, 2012 in Hip Hop
Tags: , , ,

I remember when the single “Pump it Up” first started airing and I thought it was cool, but not much different from many of the other club bangers out there. Also consider that at the time,we were still used to good artists having deals, So hearing rhymes on his level was a little more common. After Def Jam and Budden had their differences, Budden went back to the drawing board and started pushing out his own material in the form of mixtapes. ImageThen came the “Mood muzik” series( which imo is the best, most consistent mixtape series I’ve ever heard). This series showed the real budden, and got him an enormous following in the underground, Some people call him the best lyricist alive. I have personally played out every “Mood Muzik” mixtape and Joe quickly became one of my favorite artists and I couldn’t wait to see him back with a major label backing him. I bought “Mood Muzik 4” for the sake of supporting real hip-hop and after listening through it, I felt like it was worth every penny. “From welcome to real life”,to songs like “sober up”, this mixalbum is full of classics and quoteables. Anybody that still knows him as the dude that made “Pump it Up” really needs to listen to the mood muzik series, I promise you if you keep an open mind, it will be fed. I was glad to see him and Slaughterhouse(Rap Supergroup consisting of Joe Budden, Joell ortiz, Crooked I, and Royce Da 5’9″) sign with Shady records, I feel like it was a perfect fit.  I know I’m not alone when I say I can’t wait to see where Joe Budden goes with Shady records. Just like wale, and J. Cole, I feel like Budden has a bright future ahead of him as a part of the  Shady 2.0 roster, and can definitely take pole position in 2012.

Leave a Reply

